25 July 2013, 16:35
22002 |

MERCOSUR recognized the Armenian Genocide

On November 19th, during a plenary session in Montevideo (Uruguay) MERCOSUR Parliament recognized the Armenian Genocide – the majority of the votes ruled. The decision also entails that: “Parliament of MERKOSUR condemns the Armenian Genocide committed by Osman Turkey in 1915-1923, expresses its support to justified demands of Armenian nation and calls upon the governments and parliaments that have not yet recognized and condemned the Armenian Genocide to do so.” Comprising Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela and Brazil, the Southern Common Market - MERCOSUR represents a total population of 250 million individuals. Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru currently have associate member status.

By topic